“Everything Everything All At Once” Sweeps the 2023 Indie Spirit Awards With Seven Wins

Michelle Yeoh in
Michelle Yeoh in "Everything Everywhere All at Once"

Everything Everywhere All at Once is one of the favorites in the race for the Oscar, and it cemented its status as the front-runner at the Independent Spirit Awards. The acclaimed sci-fi epic made history at this award show, after coming out victorious in seven different categories.

Everything Everywhere came into the night as the most-nominated film, and it managed to come out victorious in all the categories where it received a nod. Most notably, it defeated the likes of Women Talking and Tár to win the night’s shiniest trophy: best feature.

Its cast was also on top of their game, with Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu all collecting awards in their respective categories. Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert picked up the trophies for best director and best screenplay, while Paul Rogers won best editing.

It was also a big night for The Bear, and FX’s poignant culinary dramedy managed to pick up all two awards it was nominated for. It was named the best new scripted series, while Ayo Edebiri defeated her co-star Ebon Moss-Bachrach to collect the trophy for the best supporting performance.

The 38th Independent Spirit Awards returned to Santa Monica Pier, California on March 4, with Hasan Minhaj serving as the first-time host.


Best Feature

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance

Michelle Yeoh
Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Quinta Brunson
Abbott Elementary

Best Director

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All at Once

John Cassavetes Award

The Cathedral
Writer/Director: Ricky D’Ambrose
Producer: Graham Swon

Best First Feature

Director: Charlotte Wells
Producers: Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski

Robert Altman Award

Women Talking
Director: Sarah Polley
Casting Directors: John Buchan, Jason Knight
Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter

Producers Award

Tory Lenosky

Best Breakthrough Performance

Stephanie Hsu
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Someone To Watch Award

Nikyatu Jusu

Best Cinematography

Florian Hoffmeister

Best Editing

Paul Rogers
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

The Rehearsal
Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder
Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith
Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper, Eric Notarnicola

Truer Than Fiction Award

Reid Davenport
I Didn’t See You There

Best New Scripted Series

The Bear
Creator/Executive Producer: Christopher Storer
Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Hiro Murai
Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

Best Screenplay

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best First Screenplay

John Patton Ford
Emily the Criminal

Best International Film

Director: Saim Sadiq

Best Supporting Performance In a New Scripted Series

Ayo Edebiri
The Bear

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Director/Producer: Laura Poitras
Producers: Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons

Best Supporting Performance (Film)

Ke Huy Quan
Everything Everywhere All at Once