“The Harder They Fall” Wins Big at the 2022 AAFCA Awards Winners

Regina King, Idris Elba, and LaKeith Stanfield in
Regina King, Idris Elba, and LaKeith Stanfield in "The Harder They Fall"

The African American Film Critics Association is the latest film organization to share its annual list of award winners. They awarded some worthy contenders this year, with Netflix western The Harder They Fall leading the way with four awards.

The Harder They Fall walked away with some of the biggest awards of the night, including best picture and best director for Jeymes Samuel. It also collected the trophy for the best ensemble, while Samuel, Kid Cudi, and Jay-Z picked up the award for best music.

It was also a big night for King Richard, the tale of Richard Williams who helped his daughter Venus and Serena reach for the stars and become tennis champions. Will Smith won the award for best actor, with his co-star Aunjanue Ellis picking up the trophy for best supporting actress.

AAFCA president and co-founder Gil Robertson described 2022 as a fantastic year for film and said that this year’s winners “not only entertained us but educated and inspired us and we’re looking forward to celebrating them at the AAFCA Awards.”

The list of major winners also includes Jennifer Hudson, Corey Hawkins, and Adam McKay and they’ll all be officially honored on March 2nd in Los Angeles.


Best Picture: The Harder They Fall

Best Director: Jeymes Samuel (The Harder They Fall)

Best Screenplay: Don’t Look Up (Adam McKay)

Best Actor: Will Smith (King Richard)

Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson (Respect)

Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Breakout Actor: Saniyya Sidney (King Richard)

Best Ensemble: The Harder They Fall

Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green (King Richard)

Best Music: The Harder They Fall (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z)

Best Independent Feature: Who We Are

Best Documentary: Summer of Soul